What is the Copper Chicken?

·

2 min read

In my journey to learn how to code again (another blog, and another story for another day) I wanted to try my hand at using the Aurora Toolset to create my own Neverwinter Nights module. I had played the original campaign, the expansions and a few of the community favorites.

Easy enough right?

Well, that was two years ago. It's a slow process, building your own module in a toolset that is twenty years old. (I refuse to believe 2002 was over 20 years ago, but it is) My goal/idea was to focus more on the story aspect of what I like most about games like this - the story, the writing, the characters. So I created an inn with a colorful cast of characters you could talk to, solve their problems (what Bioware inspired game doesn't have you playing the therapist for a group of weirdos?) and take them along on your journey!

As it turns out, I wanted to do a little more than create a visual novel-esque game, so I created the basement to the inn, where you begin to unravel the mysteries of The Copper Chicken.

The story so far

It begins a little tropey on purpose - an inn you wake up in with no memories of how you got there. Killing rats in the basement. You know, Normal RPG Things.

The goal is to slowly expand the story (and let the player level up to about 4-5) in the catacombs beneath the inn until I'm ready to tackle creating a town and outdoor elements.

Currently Working On...

Right now, I am drafting the initial conversations with all the major NPCs (so far). I want a variety of henchmen - rogue, cleric, paladin and ranger are the ones I've planned for.